It has been a little while since I’ve posted anything. I’ve been a busy overhauler!

I am happy to report that I am 10 pounds lighter than I was six weeks ago. Exercise has become a regular part of my routine and sometimes I even find myself enjoying it. (Not too much, though. If it’s not a teensy bit unpleasant I know I’m not working hard enough.)  I’ve incorporated eating right into every facet of my day, whether it’s my “cheat” day or I’m eating out or whatever. I check nutritional information whenever it is available on a restaurant’s website and plan ahead, which has done wonders for me in staying on track.

With Halloween out of the way, the looming threat of candy has subsided somewhat, but all that means is that Christmas candy is waiting in the wings. (I won’t even address Thanksgiving and the calorie bomb-tastic temptations that will rear their ugly heads.)  Christmastime is my favorite time of year, and many of the reasons why have to do with food and sweets. I’m not talking about spinach and fresh apples, either. But I have established a pretty solid foundation that I think will get me through without adding to the scale. I am not going to deprive myself, but I’m not going to consume as if this will be my last Christmas ever, either.  I’ve altered my mindset: I can eat something if I like it and it’s special and seasonal, but if it’s something I can get year round I’m not going to lose my marbles over it just because it is now in red-and-green or red-and-white packaging. That means: Hershey’s Candy Cane Kisses? Why not? Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Kisses or White Chocolate Hugs in red and green foil? No sir, no ma’am.

I wish I could say spiritually I’ve made as much progress. I read the Bible every day and pray every time I think about it. I even fasted a couple of days last week. But I still find myself losing my temper easily and getting stressed.  I really feel that if I had a different job that would help a lot with my disposition. (Hint, hint, God.)  Until that happens, though, I guess I will just have to keep trying.  And trying to get some sleep, which would be helpful, too. (Hint, hint, baby boy.)

Hopefully I will be able to report a month from now that I’m at least another 5 pounds lighter and 100% more peaceful and in tune with God.

