Disclaimer: I will get political in this post. It is one of the only times I will. If you feel passionately one way or the other and you’re afraid your passions will ignite, I urge you to proceed with caution.

The purpose of this blog is to document my personal transformation, not my politics. However, I don’t pontificate about politics on Facebook and 140 characters aren’t enough to full express what I want to say, so this is the forum I will utilize today since I have it available to me. In other words, I don’t usually do this, but it’s my blog and I’ll do what I want. 🙂

Four years ago, I supported Barack Obama for a plethora of reasons. One, I was a card-carrying Democrat and had been since I was able to vote. Two, I felt that President George W. Bush had made a mess, to be frank, and I didn’t have confidence that John McCain would fix it (as much as I respected the man). Three, I didn’t want Sarah Palin anywhere near the White House (unlike her running mate, she had zero respect from me). Four, History!!!! and all that jazz. So when Senator Obama became President Obama, of course I was happy.

Over the ensuing four years, I watched him try to fulfill his campaign promises. Unlike a lot of people (apparently), I actually didn’t expect him to turn it all around in one term.  I knew it would be tough, and I knew at the end of four years his opponents would use whatever difficulties he had against him to say, “See? We knew he wouldn’t be able to fix the country! Now give it back like we told you to four years ago.”  So I was surprised by very little over President Obama’s first term. The disrespect, the racism, the obstructionism; I expected most of that. 

What I didn’t expect was health care reform and how much I would become invested in it.  The fight for the Affordable Care Act was a long and protracted one, but it was actually after the law was passed that it became personal for me.  Maybe it was the lawsuits, maybe it was the “War on Religion”, maybe it was the medical bills that strained my family’s bank account (in fact I’m pretty sure it was that last one); but somewhere along the way, “Obamacare” became like my daughter.  It was a surprise, but once it was there, I wanted to protect it with my life.

So even if I had no other reason to vote to re-elect President Obama, keeping the Affordable Care Act in place would have driven me to the polls.  The Affordable Care Act means keeping my family healthy won’t bankrupt us. It means I can afford to control the size of my family.  I love my kids and I believe children are blessings, but I also know what a toll bringing one into the world takes on my body and on my family financially.  I’m sorry, but I just don’t believe avoiding such a toll should cost my family a car payment. That’s just me, though.

While others are free to think one’s position on abortion or gay marriage should determine whether they should hold the nation’s highest office, I’m afraid I just don’t have that luxury.  Yes, I am a Christian. I’m also of the belief that God isn’t registered to a particular political party in the U.S.  He created the world.  He just might be above all this.  So forgive me if I roll my eyes when someone invokes scripture to demonstrate why President Obama’s presidency is against God’s will.  God’s will will be done, always.

I voted for what is in the best interests of my family, and I am happy today that something that helps my family is not going anywhere. I will not gloat or be snarky to anyone who supported Mitt Romney, but I won’t abide despair that he lost.  President Obama serving another term means nothing but good to me and my family, and to wish for his failure means to wish for my family’s failure.  And that is very personal to me.

